top of page

If it’s not your body, it’s none of your business

Since arriving at college there have been two distinct moments which have made me mad. So mad that I almost want to punch my pillow. I won’t. Instead I am going to write this post in the hope that people will be reminded of the harm that invasive commentary can perpetuate.


Scenario one took place last weekend. I had a glorious moment of food freedom with a big plate of BBQ nachos for lunch and some frozen custard for pudding. It was so yummy and bloating but you know what I didn’t care. It hit the spot and I nursed a sensational food coma that ensued. Well, much to my dismay, one person who I was with happened to mention, after I had revelled in my meal, the dreaded ‘Freshman 15’. He asked how ‘I was doing with that’ implying that the meal I just ate would help to pack on the scary 15 pounds. Talk about a trigger! I bounced all over the shop after that. I went to the gym for an hour and skipped dinner. Even worse was the anger and guilt I brought on myself for giving into my eating disorder and reacting in the exact way Kevin wanted. All because some guy unthinkingly made a really, really unhelpful comment. FYI folks studies have been done to show the ‘Freshman 15’ is a myth. Thus, I am stating it now, if anyone else makes a comment about it do not expect me to dane you with a response.


Scenario two took place two nights ago. A boy accidentally brushed my hip and took it upon himself to make fun of how bony it was. He exclaimed with testosterone filled pride that his hip was bigger than mine and compared the thickness of our bodies. Firstly, all bodies are different so fuck off. Secondly, bony hips, thick hips, wide hips, slim hips and any other types are all beautiful and unique in their own ways. My hips can be any size and they will never ever deserve the mockery this person gave them. You know it was just a throw away remark, a mere side comment, but man did it hurt. Hit me right to my core. A girl with anorexia and body dysmorphia doing recovery on her own in another country having to deal with this asshole making fun of her body. I mean it just was a bit fucking shit. I didn’t confront this boy, (a very immature boy at that and NOT a man), or let him know about my past. Instead I bit my tongue and smiled and joked through the pain. However, if he does anything like this again he should know he will be getting a slap.


As I realised on my gap year, everyone has something going on. There is pain, suffering and hurt somewhere in everyones lives. It may be mentally, physically or emotionally. If everyone can just be more mindful of that I know these two comments would not have been made. So to those who just read this post please, please, please remember that if it’s not your body it really is none of your bloody business.

Recent Posts

See All

Grrrr...Oh How I Wish I Knew

I have written about this before, but no one really quite tells you what you are getting yourself into when you commit to anorexia. Recently, I was diagnosed with small intestinal bacterial overgrowth

bottom of page